Play-Asia.com - Your One-Stop-Shop for Asian Entertainment

The galactica game brings an experience that is out of this world!

 

ICE modchips loses credibility

We have written before about some of the problems surrounding the hypothetic ICE modchip for the Xbox 360. Today 360 updates posts some extra information on why the chip is probably a hoax.

Team ICE also has a UK page, being www.icemodchip.co.uk. On this page they post the following photo of the 1.0 version of the modchip, with comment ‘Version 1 of the XBOX 360 ICE chip (avalible soon)’:
ICE modchip

Well, that could be possible. But now go to this electronics webshop, hit Ctrl-F and search for OZK9510 on that page. Hmm, that photo does look awfully familiar. If you look closely, even the type numbers on the chip match. The description on the Aussie website:

AVR chips are a new range of micro-controllers that boast faster operating speeds and a larger instruction set than other micro-controllers. The AVR development series of Kits designed by Dontronics are designed to be an inexpensive method of prototyping projects using the Atmel AVR range of micro-controllers.

Now I have done some Electronics classes in my college days, and I can guarantee you that that is not going to do anything in my Xbox 360 except blowing it up. Wonder if Team ICE can think of another excuse for this rather silly mistake before they just openly admit that it is a hoax.

del.icio.us:ICE modchips loses credibility newsvine:ICE modchips loses credibility furl:ICE modchips loses credibility reddit:ICE modchips loses credibility fark:ICE modchips loses credibility Y!:ICE modchips loses credibility gamegrep:ICE modchips loses credibility

3 comments on 'ICE modchips loses credibility'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or Trackback to 'ICE modchips loses credibility'.

Comment by Masra on 2006-01-08 16:32:51 | Reply

See what the’ve now on their website in stead of the picture:

“Pictures: Have been removed due to new features, pcb boards, and security issues”

Mmhhhh

Comment by aego on 2006-01-08 22:16:47 | Reply

when i look at their site, the foto is still there ?

Comment by Curry on 2006-01-09 00:37:43 | Reply

It seems they have only edited their .com site, not the .co.uk one.

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>